HomeCURRENT AFFAIRSPOLITICSBJP appoints in-charges for Rajya Sabha polls in four states

BJP appoints in-charges for Rajya Sabha polls in four states

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday appointed Union ministers in-charge for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls in four states.

While Narendra Singh Tomar was made in-charge for Rajasthan, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat got Haryana. The party also appointed Union minister Ashwini Vaishnaw in-charge for Maharashtra and G Kishan Reddy has been appointed in-charge for the polls in Karnataka.

There are 13 independent candidates in the state assembly and are supporting the Ashok Gehlot-led Rajasthan government and this makes the contest interesting.

Gujarat-based party Bharatiya Tribal Party formed by Chhotubhai Vasava has two members in the assembly in Rajasthan. In Haryana, Jannayak Janata Party leader Ajay Singh Chautala said that all 10 MLAs of the party will support independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma for the Rajya Sabha seat.

List of BJP Candidates for RS Election

FM Sitharaman from Karnataka, and Minister of Commerce and Industry Piyush Goyal from Maharashtra are among the prominent names up for re-elections given the nearing end of their terms.

Minister of Minority Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, however, has not been named in the list even though his term is set to end.

On June 10, 15 states will hold biennial elections for 57 Rajya Sabha seats. The BJP has appointed in-charges for bypolls in four Tripura assembly constituencies, including party national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya, Minister in the Assam cabinet Ashok Singhal, and Jayanta Mallabaruah, political secretary to Assam Chief Minister.

On June 23, bypolls will be held in four assembly constituencies in Tripura: Jubarajnagar, Surma, Town Bordowali, and Agartala, with results being announced on June 26.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -