HomeCURRENT AFFAIRSPresident Election: 11 candidates file nominations after EC issues notification

President Election: 11 candidates file nominations after EC issues notification

With the issuance of notification by the Election Commission for the Presidential election, the nomination process has started on Wednesday. According to sources, 11 candidates filed their nominations on the first day. Out of 11 nominations filed, one nomination has been rejected due to incomplete documents. Voting for the presidential election is scheduled for July 18 while the counting of votes is on July 21.

President Ram Nath Kovind term ends on July 24.

In view of the presidential election, the opposition is trying to field their candidate by consensus. West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) President Mamata Banerjee said, “We have decided that we will choose only one consensus candidate. Everyone will give our support to this candidate. We will consult with others. This is a good start. We sat together after several months and we would do it again.”

NCP chief Sharad Pawar said, ‘I appreciate the leaders of the opposition parties for suggesting my name as a candidate for the election of the President of India in the meeting held in Delhi. However, I would like to state that I have humbly declined the offer of my candidature. Earlier, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar had also rejected his candidature for the post of President.’

The BJP is trying to build a consensus by holding talks with all the political parties regarding the Presidential candidate. BJP has entrusted National President JP Nadda and Defense Minister Rajnath Singh for this important work. Both these leaders will try to build a consensus on the presidential candidate by holding talks with all the constituents of NDA as well as all the constituents of UPA including Congress.

The President is elected according to the Constitution through the system of proportional representation by means of secret ballot. The President is elected by an electoral college consisting of elected representatives of the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and State Assemblies. These include the Legislative Assemblies of Delhi and Puducherry. Nominated members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha or State Assemblies are not eligible to be included in the electoral college, therefore, they are not entitled to participate in the elections. Similarly, the members of the Legislative Councils are also not voters for the Presidential election. Polling will take place in the Parliament House and state assemblies while the counting of votes will take place in Delhi.

Also Read – PM Modi directs recruitment of 10 lakh people over next 1.5 years

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAM, and TWITTER.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -