Toll Tax Exemption: Vehicles That Don’t Need to Pay Taxes, Check NHAI Guidelines

Toll Tax Exemption

The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) has implemented measures to facilitate smoother traffic flow at toll plazas. Yet, lengthy queues persist, often due to misconceptions regarding toll exemptions. Understanding NHAI guidelines is crucial, as only specific vehicle categories enjoy toll tax exemptions.

Exempted Vehicle Categories

NHAI specifies five categories exempt from toll tax:

  1. Emergency services
  2. Defense services
  3. VIP vehicles
  4. Public transportation
  5. Two-wheelers

Emergency vehicles such as ambulances, fire brigades, and police vehicles are exempted, alongside defense vehicles under Army, Navy, or Air Force service. VIP vehicles, transporting dignitaries from Presidents to High Court judges, also enjoy exemption. Public transport vehicles and state government-operated two-wheelers are likewise exempt, with exceptions for two-wheelers at select National Highway plazas.

Notable Exemptions: Who Doesn’t Pay Toll Tax

The following individuals and positions are exempt from toll tax:

Special Situations: Potential Exemptions

While civilian cars aren’t exempt, NHAI’s updated guidelines mandate toll plazas to maintain efficient service. If queues exceed 100 meters or service time surpasses 10 seconds per vehicle, toll staff must allow free passage until the queue shortens to within 100 meters. Yellow line markers on toll lanes indicate this limit, fostering accountability among plaza operators.

Understanding NHAI guidelines empowers motorists to navigate toll plazas efficiently and assert their entitlements to exemptions.

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAM, and TWITTER

Exit mobile version