HomeSPORTSFIFA 2021 Award: Robert Lewandowski won the award for the second straight...

FIFA 2021 Award: Robert Lewandowski won the award for the second straight year

Poland and Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski has won FIFA’s best player of 2021 award, beating Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) legend Lionel Messi. At the same time, Alexia Putelas has been chosen as the best player among women players.

Argentine and Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) legend Lionel Messi, besides Egypt and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah were also named in the race for FIFA’s best player of the year 2021. But Lewandowski took this award in his name.

Messi has won the award six times while Lewandowski is the defending champion. Messi won his major title with Argentina during the Copa America Cup. He won the seventh Ballon d’Or trophy of his career last month. Salah has found a place in this list for the second time after 2018. He did a great job for Liverpool.

Also Read – Ghazipur bomb scare: Delhi Police term Al-Qaeda outfit’s claim as ‘bogus’

Lewandowski holds two Bundesliga (Germany’s top football league) records, scoring 41 goals for Munich in the 2020-21 season and 43 goals in the 2021 calendar year. The best player will be selected by the national team’s coach, captain, expert media and fans through a vote on the FIFA website.

Earlier, Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Manchester United were out of the race. Five-time winner Ronaldo failed to make it to the list for only the second time since he was first nominated for the FIFA Awards in 2007. He missed out on making it to the list of the 2010 award. Then Messi won the title by defeating Andre Iniesta and Xavi.

Among the women, Chelsea player Sam Kerr was in the running for the prize, along with Barcelona’s Alexia Putelas and Jennifer Hermoso. Putelas won the women’s Ballon d’Or last month, with Hermoso second and Kerr third.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -