- Advertisement -
Home SPORTS IND vs AUS WTC Final 2023: Shardul Thakur lives up to the...

IND vs AUS WTC Final 2023: Shardul Thakur lives up to the ‘Lord’ tag! Joins Don Bradman and Allan Border in ELITE list

IND vs AUS WTC Final 2023

IND vs AUS WTC Final 2023: On Friday, Shardul Thakur displayed his exceptional batting prowess at the Oval, smashing his third consecutive half-century in the World Test Championship final against Australia.

Also Read: IND vs AUS WTC Final 2023: Screamer! Cameron Green shows quick-reflexes, Dismisses well-set Ajinkya Rahane for 89 runs, Watch here

Shardul Thakur slams fifty

After stepping in at the seventh position, Shardul exhibited an impressive display of batting, reaching his fifty with a series of well-executed strokes off 108 deliveries. Despite enduring a barrage of short-pitched deliveries aimed at his body from the Australian pacers, he managed to accumulate 51 runs before being dismissed by Pat Cummins on the very next delivery. Unfortunately, India was eventually bowled out for 296, resulting in a substantial first-innings trail of 173 runs.

In a fascinating turn of events, Shardul, who previously scored two consecutive half-centuries against England at the Oval in 2021, achieved a remarkable feat by becoming the third batsman ever, following in the footsteps of Don Bradman (1930-34) and Allan Border (1985-89), to register three consecutive fifties at the renowned venue.

Notably, Shardul holds a unique distinction as the sole batsman to amass multiple fifty-plus scores while batting at number seven or lower in England since the inception of the World Test Championship in 2019. Remarkably, all four of his Test centuries have been achieved in foreign conditions, with his maiden century coming in the historic Gabba Test against Australia in January 2021.

Also Read: IND vs AUS WTC Final 2023: Shocking! Former Pakistani cricketer accuses Australia of CHEATING, Watch

Watch IND vs AUS WTC Final 2023 video here

Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Srikar Bharat(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAMand TWITTER

- Advertisement -
Exit mobile version