HomeSPORTSPakistan name T20 World Cup squad, Fakhar Zaman misses out

Pakistan name T20 World Cup squad, Fakhar Zaman misses out

Pakistan had named their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia with star fast bowler Shaheen Afridi set to return from his injury.

Afridi had missed the Asia Cup after being advised a 4-6 weeks rest by the medical team following an injury to the right knee ligament. He had copped an injury while fielding during the first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle in July.

“Shaheen, who is undergoing rehabilitation for a knee injury in London and expected to resume bowling early next month,” the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said in a statement.

The squad also featured left-hander Shan Masood, who is yet to play in a T20I, while Haider Ali was recalled to the side after last featuring in the format in December 2021.

However, Fakhar Zaman, the blazing batter, was dropped to the reserves and despite much buzz, there was also no recall for veteran Shoaib Malik. Haider comes in for Fakhar, who remains in the reserves after a poor 2022 with the bat. The left-hander has played seven T20Is this year, totalling just 96 runs and averaging 13.71.

The 21-year old Haider has played 21 T20Is for Pakistan, the last of them in December 2021. He has made three fifties and averages 23.88 in the format.

“We have a team that can perform strongly in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. That’s why we have shown faith and confidence in almost the same set of players who have been part of the T20I squad post the 2021 World Cup in the UAE,” chief selector Mohammad Wasim said.

“These players have performed well since November 2021 and that’s why we have won nine out of our last 13 T20Is. We have invested in these cricketers and it is fair to them that they get the opportunity to show their mettle in the World Cup, an event for which they have been preparing and training hard.

T20 World Cup squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir

Reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani

Also Read: Viral Video: Is this crow all set to be the part of India’s Next top model

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAM, and TWITTER.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -