HomeSPORTSRohit Sharma replaces Virat Kohli as full-time India's ODI skipper, Jadeja misses...

Rohit Sharma replaces Virat Kohli as full-time India’s ODI skipper, Jadeja misses Test selection

Star opener Rohit Sharma has been appointed as full-time India ODI skipper on Wednesday. The veteran batter has replaced Virat Kohli for the mega role and he is also set to play as vice-captain in Tests.

Previously Ajinkya Rahane was Virat Kohli’s deputy in Test cricket.

The mega decision came after India’s poorest performance in the recently concluded T20 World Cup where the Virat Kohli-led side failed to make it to the final four.

Meanwhile, the selection committee has also named India’s Test squad for the South Africa series.

Talking about the Test squad for South Africa tour, the BCCI’s statement also mentioned that Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar were not available for selection due to injuries and are currently undergoing rehabilitation.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -