HomeSPORTSSouth Africa name 17-man ODI squad for India series, Marco Jansen included

South Africa name 17-man ODI squad for India series, Marco Jansen included

South Africa have named their 17-man ODI squad for the three-match series against India starting January 19.

Pacer Marco Jansen has been included in Proteas squad for the three-match series.

Jansen had an impressive Test against at the Centurion where he picked four wickets in the second innings.

Veteran Anrich Nortje will miss the ODIs due to a hip injury.

Wayne Parnell, Sisanda Magala and Zubayr Hamza also retained their spots in the squad which also includes former skipper Quinton de Kock, who retired from Test cricket following the loss in the first Test against India.

“This is a very exciting group and the Selection Panel and I are eager to see what they will produce,” CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said.

“For many of our players, it does not get bigger than playing against this powerhouse Indian team and this will be the biggest series of their young lives so far.

“We are looking forward to seeing what they bring to the table and wish Temba (Bavuma) and Mark (Boucher) all the best for the series.” The first (January 19) and second ODIs (January 21) will be played at Boland Park, Paarl while the third and final match (January 23) will be held at Newlands, Cape Town.

India on Saturday announced 18-member squad for the ODI series with KL Rahul as skipper.

South Africa ODI squad against India: Temba Bavuma (C), Keshav Maharaj (VC), Quinton de Kock, Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -