- Advertisement -
HomeCURRENT AFFAIRSPOLITICSAssembly Polls 2023: Polling Underway in Mizoram and Chhattisgarh, Setting the Stage...

Assembly Polls 2023: Polling Underway in Mizoram and Chhattisgarh, Setting the Stage for 2024 Challenges

As Mizoram and Chhattisgarh begin their assembly elections,, tactics and obstacles of the political scene in 2024.

Assembly Polls 2023: On Tuesday, November 7, the month-long assembly elections began with polls being taken in Mizoram and Chhattisgarh. In Chhattisgarh, the first round of voting will determine the outcomes of 223 candidates—25 of them are women—for 20 seats. In the meantime, Mizoram is holding a single phase of voting for its 40-member assembly.

Chhattisgarh’s Two-Phase Voting

While Telangana and Rajasthan will hold single-phase elections on November 25 and November 30, respectively, Chhattisgarh will hold its second round of voting on November 17. On December 3, the votes will be tallied in every state. The BJP at the Centre, the recently established opposition INDIA group, and the regional parties competing in these assembly elections view them as a litmus test. The results will undoubtedly impact the tactics used in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Chhattisgarh’s Electoral Showdown

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the ruling Congress are the primary rivals in Chhattisgarh. The Congress is vying for a second consecutive term in power in the state, but the government is in hot water due to recent corruption allegations against Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel and the Mahadev Book App. The BJP wants to take advantage of the controversy and make things worse for the Congress.

Mizoram’s Electoral Landscape

The Mizo National Front (MNF), Zoram Peoples’ Movement (ZPM), and Congress are the main challengers in Mizoram’s 23 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has filed candidates in four seats. In contrast, Mizoram has a more diversified political environment. Prominent contenders in the Chhattisgarh election are Congress state unit head and MP Deepak Baij, and former chief minister and BJP leader Dr. Raman Singh. Among the main contenders in Mizoram are state Congress chairman Lalsawta, ZPM founder Lalduhoma, and MNF leader and incumbent chairman Minister Zoramthanga.

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAMand TWITTER.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -