- Advertisement -
HomeCURRENT AFFAIRSPOLITICSMizoram Election 2023 Results: ZPM Secures Lead in 25 Seats, MNF Faces...

Mizoram Election 2023 Results: ZPM Secures Lead in 25 Seats, MNF Faces Tough Challenge

Mizoram Election 2023: The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) faces a serious challenge from the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), which has made great progress and crossed the majority threshold.

Mizoram Election 2023 Results: Votes for the Mizoram assembly elections were being counted on Monday morning, and the Election Commission (EC) reported that the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) had crossed the halfway point in early trends and was leading in 25 seats in addition to winning one. According to the report, the Congress held one seat, the BJP three, and the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) ten.

21 Seats Under Majority Control

Out of 40 assembly seats, 21 are held by the majority in Mizoram. In the Tuichang seat, ZPM candidate W Chhuanawma defeated deputy chief minister Tawnluia by a margin of 909 votes. After two rounds of counting, Chief Minister Zoramthanga was behind ZPM’s Lalthansanga in the Aizawl East-1 seat. In the South Tuipui seat, ZPM candidate Jeje Lalpekhlua was leading and Health Minister R Lalthangliana was trailing.

ZPM’s Lalduhoma Leads in Chief Ministerial Race

Lalduhoma, the CM candidate for ZPM, was in the lead for the Serchhip seat. Thirteen centres conducted the counting. Following the counting of postal ballots, the EVM vote counting started at 8:30 a.m. Five rounds of counting will take place in most constituencies, but in some seats with lower voter turnout, only two rounds will be conducted. The counting process involves over 4,000 personnel. There are 399 tables total for the EVMs and 56 tables for the postal ballot counting.

Over 80% of 8.57 Lakh Cast Ballots in Mizoram Elections

On November 7, voting took place in the state, with more than 80% of the 8.57 lakh voters casting ballots. There were 174 contenders in all, 18 of whom were female. The BJP fielded candidates for 23 seats, while the MNF, ZPM, and Congress each ran for 40 seats. The first-time candidate for the assembly, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), ran for four seats. There were seventeen Independent contenders as well.

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAMand TWITTER.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -