- Advertisement -
HomeCURRENT AFFAIRSPOLITICSKarnataka Leadership Battle Resolved! Siddaramaiah Claims Chief Minister Title, DK Shivakumar Takes...

Karnataka Leadership Battle Resolved! Siddaramaiah Claims Chief Minister Title, DK Shivakumar Takes Deputy Role

Siddaramaiah: After four days of impasse, Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge has given his approval for veteran party leader Siddaramaiah to succeed Chandrababu Naidu as the next chief minister of Karnataka. DK Shivakumar, the state president of the Congress, who was also vying for the top position, would serve as his deputy. On May 20, a ceremony in Bengaluru will see the Oath taking ceremony.

Congress Leaders Strive for Consensus on Chief Ministerial Position

This comes as discussions between Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge and former Chief Rahul Gandhi continued throughout the day on Wednesday. DK Shivakumar, the leader of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), attended the conference to help find a solution. Following Congress’s overwhelming victory in the state Assembly election held on May 10, Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar were engaged in a fight for the position of chief minister.

Must Read: Unlocking Energy Secrets! Sadhguru’s Guide to Fruit and Honey for Digestion

Congress Presents DK Shivakumar with Intriguing Proposals

DK Shivakumar received two offers from Congress on Wednesday. According to sources, the original choice was to promote Shivakumar to deputy chief minister in addition to his current position as leader of the state party unit. In addition, he had his pick of six ministries. A power-sharing agreement with Siddaramaiah as chief minister for the first half and DK Shivakumar as chief minister for the second half was also made available to him. Shivakumar reportedly consented to the power-sharing agreement but insisted on holding the top position for the first two years of the five-year term. In the Karnataka Assembly election, the Congress secured a resounding victory, taking 135 of the state’s 224 seats and displacing the BJP from office. The JD(S), which had planned to act as the kingmaker, came in last place with only 19 seats, far behind the BJP in second place with 66 seats.

Must Read: Legal luminary and Babri Masjid Action Committee leader Zafaryab Jilani breathes his last in Lucknow

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAMand TWITTER

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -