HomeCURRENT AFFAIRSN Biren Singh To Continue As Manipur CM

N Biren Singh To Continue As Manipur CM

Manipur CM News: N Biren Singh will once again become the Chief Minister in Manipur. In the meeting of the BJP Legislature Party in Imphal, N Biren Singh was elected the leader of the Legislature Party. Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Kiren Rijiju had reached Imphal from Delhi for the legislature party meeting. Sitharaman was appointed as the central observer and Rijiju as co-observer for the election of the legislature party leader in Manipur.

After the legislature party meeting, Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said, ‘It is a good decision taken by consensus of all. This will ensure that Manipur has a stable and responsible government which will build ahead, as the Center today under the leadership of PM Modi pays special attention to the northeastern states.’

On the other hand, NPP leader Konrad Sangma said that he will “review” the situation if his party is not included in the government in Manipur. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a simple majority in Manipur by winning 32 seats in the elections to the 60-member assembly and the National People’s Party (NPP) also won seven seats.

According to BJP sources, there was a tussle within the party over the chief minister’s post in Manipur, so no one was officially nominated as the chief minister’s face before the election. N. Biren Singh has led a successful government in Manipur for 5 years as Chief Minister, but within the party he was facing challenges from Biswajit Singh.

In Manipur assembly elections,/ the Bharatiya Janata Party won 32 out of 60 seats and secured a majority. However, despite the victory, there was a tussle over the name of the CM and after 10 days it was finally clear that N Biren Singh would be the next Chief Minister of the state.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -