- Advertisement -
HomeCURRENT AFFAIRSPOLITICSBJP shell shocked in Nitin Gadkari, Devendra Fadnavis  stronghold

BJP shell shocked in Nitin Gadkari, Devendra Fadnavis  stronghold

The candidate for the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) coalition defeated the BJP’s nominee in elections for a Maharashtra Legislative Council seat in Nagpur on Thursday, dealing a serious electoral blow to the BJP in one of its most important strongholds.

Opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi defeats BJP’s nominee in Legislative Council seat in Nagpur

The results represent a significant loss for the BJP because the district is home to prominent  leaders like Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, as well as the headquarters of its ideological parent Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). The poll saw the MVA’s Sudhakar Adbale win the Nagpur teachers’ seat, defeating the BJP-backed Nago Ganar, officials claimed. It was a crucial race in the state after Shiv Sena dissident Eknath Shinde ousted Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray by joining  hands with the BJP in June.

Candidates backed by the MVA, comprised of Thackeray’s Shiv Sena faction, the Congress, and the Nationalist Congress Party, competed against the ruling coalition of the BJP and Mr. Shinde’s Shiv Sena group . Three of the five council positions up for election—and three of which came from the teachers and graduates’ constituency—were filled on Monday.

Also Read: Congress to rake up unemployment, inflation issues in a big way during Budget session

6 year term of five council members expiring on Feb 7

These elections were open to teachers and graduates who met certain requirements and registered to vote. The Konkan teachers’ constituency saw the greatest voter turnout at 91.02 percent, while the Nashik division graduates seat saw the lowest turnout at 49.28 percent.

The voting percentages for the teachers’ constituencies in the divisions of Aurangabad, Nagpur, and Konkan were 86%, 86.23 percent, and 91.0 percent, respectively.

In addition to Nagpur, a closely watched contest took place in the Nashik division graduates seat, where the Congress experienced a mutiny in the lead-up to the elections.

The official Congress candidate for the position was Sudhir Tambe, a three-term council member, however he failed to submit his candidature paperwork.

His son Satyajeet Tambe made the decision to compete as an independent when he withdrew from the race. Both were later suspended by the Congress. According to officials, Satyajeet Tambde is now ahead in the votes.

Also Read: Watch: Politician Dares KCR, With ‘Gift’ – “Your Size, Bill To Exchange”

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAM, and TWITTER

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -