HomeNATIONAAP nominates Balbir Singh, Vikramjit Singh As Candidates For Rajya Sabha Seats...

AAP nominates Balbir Singh, Vikramjit Singh As Candidates For Rajya Sabha Seats From State

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Punjab on Saturday nominated environmentalist Sant Balbir Singh Seechewal and entrepreneur, philanthropist and social activist Bikramjeet Singh Sahni as its candidates for Rajya Sabha seats from the state. Both are Padma Shri awardees.

“I am very happy to inform you that the Aam Aadmi Party is nominating two Padma Shri awardees as members of the Rajya Sabha… one environment lover Padma Shri Sant Balbir Singh Seenchewal, the other Padma Shri Vikramjit Singh Sahni is related to Punjabi culture… my best wishes to both,” chief minister Bhagwant Mann tweeted in Hindi.

Delhi chief minister and AAP national convener Arvind Kejriwal congratulated the two leaders and said they will enrich debates in Rajya Sabha with their vast experience. He said they will strongly raise issues of the common man in the upper house of parliament.

The duo are expected to file their nominations on Monday. The last date for filing of nominations is May 31. It is unlikely that Opposition parties will field any candidates for the RS polls, which are due on June 10.

Also Read: The date-sheet for June TEE 2022 has been released IGNOU

Once the duo are declared elected as Rajya Sabha members, the party’s strength in the Upper House will reach 10. It may be mentioned that the AAP had elected five members to the Rajya Sabha earlier this year.

The Rajya Sabha term of Ambika Soni from Congress and Balwinder Singh Bhunder from Shiromani Akali Dal will expire on July 4.

For all the news update subscribe our YouTube channel ‘DNP India’. You can also follow us on FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM and TWITTER.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -