- Advertisement -
HomeNATIONTripura elections: PM Modi appeals to vote in ‘record numbers’ as polling...

Tripura elections: PM Modi appeals to vote in ‘record numbers’ as polling begins in the northeastern state

Tripura elections: Prime Minister Narendra Modi appealed to the people in Tripura to vote in “record numbers and strengthen the festival of democracy” as the northeastern state went to polls today. PM Modi in a tweet , urged the youth to exercise their franchise.

Tripura is facing a triangular contest this year. The ruling BJP and its alliance partner IPFT are up against the Left-Congress alliance and TIPRA Motha in a triangular contest.

Polling in Tripura kicked off at 7 am and will continue till 4 pm.

Arch rivals now friends

The polling for the Tripura Assembly election is underway amid tight security. Arch rivals, Congress and CPI-M have joined hands to dislodge the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from power in the northeastern state.

Tripura chief minister Manik Saha said, “I offered prayers in the morning and prayed for peaceful voting everywhere. You can see people have come out to vote. I am confident that BJP will definitely form the Government here. Saha is contesting Town Bordowali seat .

The BJP is contesting on 55 seats and its ally on six seats as both parties have fielded their candidates from the Ampinagar constituency. The Left – which includes the CPM, Forward Bloc, Communist Party of India and Revolutionary Socialist Party– will contest in 47 seats while Congress in 13 seats. The TIPRA Motha, headed by royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarma, is contesting 42 seats.

Counting on March 2

The counting of votes will be done on March 2.

About 28.14 lakh people are eligible to vote in Tripura in this year’s polls of which 14,15,233 are men, 13,99,289 are women and 62 belong to the third gender.

The polls will see 94,815 voters in the age group of 18-19 years and 6,21,505 in the age group of 22-29 years. The highest number of voters are in the 40-59 age group, at 9,81,089, according to Election Commission.

259 candidates are contesting for 60 Assembly seats.

Also read: UP Mother-Daughter Die In Fire During Encroachment Drive

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOKINSTAGRAM, andTWITTER.

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -