HomeSPORTSAshwin returns for T20 World Cup as India announce 15-men squad; Dhoni...

Ashwin returns for T20 World Cup as India announce 15-men squad; Dhoni added as mentor

Chetan Sharma-led selection panel had announced the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Virat Kohli has been named as captain while Rohit Sharma is named as his deputy.

The team has bundle of young players and few senior players as well. Fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar was also included in the team who was the vice-captain during the Sri Lanka series.

However, the biggest shock is the last series captain for the Indian team Shikhar Dhawan has not been named in the squad. KL Rahul has been backed as a frontline opener along with Rohit Sharma.

MS Dhoni will also join the squad as mentor.

Suryakumar Yadav has also made it to the World Cup squad after a terrific Sri Lanka outing.

Rishabh Pant was selected as wicket-keeper and Ishan Kishan has also been included in the squad. The inclusion of Ishan also meant that India is looking for a player who can bat at any position when required. It might also be possible that he may bat in the middle-order along with Rishabh Pant either at No 4 or 5.

Well, the selection of the final XI still depends on how players will perform in the upcoming UAE-leg of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021.

The biggest setback is for Yuzvendra Chahal who is the country’s leading wicket-taker in the shortest format has not been included in the list. Ravichandran Ashwin has made it to the final 15 as Washington Sundar was out with the injury. Ashwin has not played a T20I game in last 4 years.

Teams can be edited till October 10 as the World Cup will start on October 17 after that only injured ones will be replaced probably from the reserved players who are selected.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Reserves- Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar

Enter Your Email To get daily Newsletter in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Latest Post

Latest News

- Advertisement -